Oregon’s sentencing overview:
Felony sentencing guidelines
Oregon’s sentencing guidelines lay out the presumptive sentences for felony crimes. An actual sentence can be higher or lower than the guidelines depending on several factors including mitigating factors, aggravating factors, and your attorney’s negotiation skills.
Measure 11 Crimes
Ballot Measure 11 was voted into law in 1994 by Oregon voters. It sets mandatory minimum sentences for certain specific crimes. This means that judges have zero ability to deviate below the mandatory minimum sentence when convicted of one of these crimes: Arson I, Assault I, Assault II, Attempted Aggravated Murder, Solicit Aggravated Murder, Attempted Murder, Kidnapping I, Kidnapping II, Manslaughter I, Manslaughter II, Murder, Rape I, Rape II, Robbery I, Robbery II, Sexual Abuse I, Sexual Penetration I, Sexual Penetration II, Sodomy I, Sodomy II, Use of a Child in Display of a Sex Act, and Compelling Prostitution.
If you are facing one of these crimes, time is of the essence. Call for a consultation with Don today.
Classifications of Misdemeanor Crimes
- Class A Misdemeanors
Punishable by up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $6250
Examples include DUII, Assault IV, & Theft II
- Class B Misdemeanors
Punishable by up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $2500
Examples include Harassment & Telephonic Harassment
- Class C Misdemeanors
Punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a maximum fine of $1250
Examples include Criminal Trespass II, Theft III & Misrepresentation of Age by a Minor